Data note

MongoDB Atlas vs Supabase free tier: 512 MB each, different meters

Atlas M0 gives 512 MB and 100 operations per second; Supabase Free gives 500 MB, unlimited API requests, 50,000 MAU and 5 GB egress. Both cost $0.

Verified answer checked

Both free tiers hold about half a gigabyte of database and cost $0: 512 MB on Atlas M0 and 500 MB on Supabase Free. Atlas meters throughput instead, capping free clusters at 100 operations per second and 500 connections, while Supabase leaves API requests unlimited and instead counts 50,000 monthly active users, 5 GB of egress and 2 active projects.

  • Atlas M0 includes 512 MB of storage on shared RAM and shared vCPU at $0/hour, limited to 100 operations per second and 32 MB of sort memory (checked 2026-10-25).
  • Supabase Free includes a 500 MB database on shared CPU with 500 MB of RAM, unlimited API requests and 50,000 monthly active users at $0/month (checked 2026-10-25).
  • Supabase Free allows 2 active projects, includes 5 GB of egress plus 5 GB of cached egress and 1 GB of file storage, and pauses projects after 1 week of inactivity (checked 2026-10-25).
  • Free Atlas clusters are capped at 500 simultaneous connections (checked 2026-10-25).
  • The first paid step past Atlas M0 is Flex at $0.011/hour, priced at $8.00/month at the base band and capped at $30/month (checked 2026-10-25).
  • The first paid step past Supabase Free is Pro at $25/month, which includes the first project and 8 GB of disk per project (checked 2026-10-25).

3 primary sources · If this is out of date, tell us and we will re-measure.

On this page
  1. What each free tier includes
  2. What the two vendors are actually metering
  3. How we measured it
  4. What changes in practice
  5. Bottom line

The two free tiers most small products start on are closer than the marketing suggests: half a gigabyte of database, shared compute, no card. What separates them is the meter each vendor puts on the plan, and that meter decides which one you outgrow first.

Atlas gives 512 MB and 100 operations per second. Supabase gives 500 MB, unlimited API requests, 50,000 monthly active users and 5 GB of egress. Both are $0, and both have a first paid step under $30 a month.

What each free tier includes

ItemAtlas M0Supabase Free
Database storage512 MB500 MB
ComputeShared RAM, shared vCPUShared CPU, 500 MB RAM
Hard ceiling100 operations/second, 32 MB sortUnlimited API requests
Users meteredNone50,000 monthly active users
TrafficNot listed on the free card5 GB egress + 5 GB cached
File storageNone1 GB
Project limitNot stated2 active projects
Idle behaviourListed as free foreverPaused after 1 week idle
First paid stepFlex $0.011/hour, M2 $9/monthPro $25/month

Atlas's free card in the pricing table lists storage, RAM and vCPU; the throughput and sort ceilings come from the FAQ, and the 500-connection cap comes from the free-cluster documentation rather than the pricing page.

What the two vendors are actually metering

Atlas meters the database engine. Every tier from M0 to M60 is priced by storage, RAM and vCPU, and the free tier is simply the smallest allocation with a throughput ceiling of 100 operations per second. That means the free tier's failure mode is mechanical: the query that needs a collection scan, the aggregation that sorts more than 32 MB, the deploy that opens too many of its 500 connections.

Supabase meters the application around the database. API requests are unlimited on Free, which sounds like the absence of a meter until you read the rest of the card: 50,000 monthly active users, 5 GB of egress, 5 GB of cached egress, 1 GB of file storage, and a limit of 2 active projects. The database itself is 500 MB of disk on shared CPU with 500 MB of RAM, and a free project is paused after a week of inactivity.

So the units are not comparable. Atlas sells operations; Supabase sells identity and bandwidth and treats the database as a fixed allowance inside them. A read-heavy API with few users hits Atlas's wall first. A consumer app with many signups and modest queries hits Supabase's.

How we measured it

Every figure is copied from the Atlas pricing page, the Atlas free-cluster limitations page and the Supabase pricing page, all opened on 2026-10-25. Nothing was provisioned and no benchmark was run. Where a vendor does not print a number on the page, the table says so rather than estimating it, which is why egress is blank on the Atlas side and the project limit is blank on Atlas too.

What changes in practice

The 500 MB Supabase database is the tighter constraint for a product with content in it, because Postgres indexes and WAL live in the same allowance. The 512 MB Atlas database is equally tight, but Atlas users typically scale storage in steps: M2 is 2 GB for $9 a month, M5 is 5 GB for $25.

Supabase's inactivity pause is the one clause people discover late. A free project that gets no traffic for a week is paused, which is fine for a demo and awkward for a staging environment a client is meant to open on a Monday.

Neither free tier includes the thing that usually ends the free period: sustained traffic. Supabase's 5 GB of egress covers about 50,000 responses at 100 KB each (calculated 2026-10-25), and Atlas's 100 operations per second covers a lot of small indexed reads and very few scans. The asymmetry to check before committing is that Supabase meters egress on its free card while the Atlas free card lists no traffic allowance at all.

Bottom line

For a prototype with a handful of users and a relational schema, Supabase Free is the better fit: 500 MB, no per-request metering and a $25 step up that includes compute credit. For a document workload with predictable small queries, Atlas M0 is cheaper to start and $9 buys four times the storage — but plan the exit at 100 operations per second, not at 512 MB.

Frequently asked questions

Which free tier stores more data, Atlas M0 or Supabase Free?

Atlas M0, by 12 MB: 512 MB against 500 MB. The difference is noise next to the meters that decide which one you outgrow first, which are Atlas's 100 operations per second and Supabase's 50,000 monthly active users.

Do Supabase free projects expire?

They pause rather than expire: free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity. The Atlas pricing page lists the M0 cluster as free forever and does not state an inactivity pause.

Why does Atlas meter operations per second while Supabase meters users?

Atlas prices compute directly on every tier, so the free cluster carries a throughput ceiling of 100 operations per second. Supabase bundles compute into the plan and meters the things that scale with an app instead: 50,000 monthly active users, 5 GB of egress and 500 MB of database.

What is the cheapest paid plan on each?

$8.00 a month for Atlas Flex at its base band, which scales to $30 a month; or $9 a month for the M2 shared cluster. Supabase's Pro plan is $25 a month and includes $10 of compute credit, enough for one Micro instance.

Sources

  1. MongoDB Atlas pricingChecked 2026-10-25
  2. Supabase pricingChecked 2026-10-25
  3. MongoDB Atlas free cluster limitsChecked 2026-10-25

Cite this page

Nadia Voss (2026). “MongoDB Atlas vs Supabase free tier: 512 MB each, different meters”. Actual Database. https://actualdatabase.com/mongodb-atlas-vs-supabase-free-tier/

Written and verified by

Nadia Voss · Data researcher

I collect prices, limits and quotas from primary sources, date every figure, and re-check them on a fixed schedule. No sponsored placements inside a table, ever.